Road trip. Road trip. Who wants to take a road trip?

Road trip. Road trip. Who wants to take a road trip?
Hey,
 
After 12 straight days of rain, the sun has begun to shine again and the forecast is bright and decent!
 
Image
Many people assume I'm an extrovert, but I'm actually quite the opposite. I enjoy spending time with people and can easily enter into conversations but without significant time to myself, I get burned out quickly.
 
Last week was a social week for me. I attended a socially-distanced mezcal tasting, a low-key housewarming party and a couple of small lunch gatherings. That's a lot.
 
So on Saturday, I spent a few hours at the spa on my own (thanks to my absurdly cheap spa deal that I got through a friend). Whether it's sitting in a sauna, staring out a cafe window or going for a long walk, such alone time is important for my mental sanity.
 
Earlier this year, I read Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking and it lit a bulb in my head. But only recently did I focus on finding my ideal balance between socializing and alone time. Now, instead of waiting until I'm burned out, I know exactly what I need and when I need it in order to stay sharp, light and even. And I stick to it no matter what.
 
---
 
I'm heading to Florida tomorrow for 4 days. It's only a short 1.5 hour flight from Cancun to Fort Lauderdale (Jetblue - $56 each week). Now that I've had Covid-19, it seems like a good time to see family without the risk of getting sick or infecting others.
 
---
 
Road trip. Road trip. Road trip. I can't get the idea out of my head. A long 2-3 month road trip around the USA. My research led me to Randal Olson's various maps of ultimate road trip routes. I'd want to add some more off-the-beaten-path locations as well. I even dreamt about such a road trip last night, although it took place in the Weinermobile for some odd reason.
 
After a US road trip, why not this European road trip or South American road trip
 
The idea is stuck in my head!
 
If you happen to have a spare RV you want to lend out, please let me know :)
 
And if you've already taken such a road trip, let me know your favorite random places that you visited!
 
---
 

Cat lesson of the week: I give up. Matcha wins. She rules my life. It's best to accept this truth as early as possible.

 

Image
Travel-related (usually) tidbits that appeared in my inboxes this past week.
  • Women of Yemen: A solar project in remote Yemen is empowering local women, breaking barriers and finally giving them the respect they deserve.
     
  • Long Way Up: Thanks to a reader of this newsletter, I learned about the excellent Long Way Up documentary series, the latest incarnation of Ewan McGregor traveling across part of the world on a motorcycle.
     
  • Blessings: Another reader sent me this - a beautiful visual journey across the Irish landscape set to the powerful words of a David Whyte poem called "Blessings".
     
  • Jesus: The owner of a wonderful guesthouse that I stay at in Agra, India wrote to tell me that I look like Jesus according to this supposedly more accurate depiction of what he might have looked like. I don't know what to say.
     
Speaking of Yemen...it was one unforgettable experience after another when I visited!
This view was my favorite.
Image
 
COSTA RICA   
If you head to this Central American country, why wouldn't you want to visit Costa Rica's original sloth sanctuary? When I worked on cruise ships as a Tour Manager, I visited this place and it was both educational and absurdly enjoyable.
 
GLOBAL BUFFET
Choose the international foods you prefer from the extensive list on this website and it will tell you which city in the US you should move to.
 
MADEIRA
It was voted the leading island destination in Europe at the World Travel Awards. I've never been. Have you?
 
AROUND THE WORLD
Most of us have heard of Malta, but have you heard of its greener sister island, Gozo? Of course I ended up reading about Japan's cat island on a website called "Matcha". In Wales, Llanddwyn Island looks remarkable and absolutely worth visiting and I'd never even heard of it before. And if you're traveling through Latvia, don't miss the opportunity to spend a night in a creepy prison.
 
ABORIGINAL ART
New rock paintings in Australia's Arnhem Land depicting interactions between humans and animals are unlike any other Aboriginal paintings that have been found before.
 
BOTANICAL GARDENS
If there's a botanical garden, I'll be there. They offer a constant source of peace and relaxation wherever you may be. Here's a handful of great botanical gardens across the globe.
 
And finally....
Image
A dog, a kalimba and a sweet rendition of "Here Comes the Sun". Believe me, that combination, as you'll see, guarantees a smile and moment of gratitude!
 
Here's to a positive week ahead!
 
Regards,
Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 

*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up, just visit A Life of Travel.
 
Image
 
Ready for a unique tour experience? Join one of my small group, locally-focused trips to incredible destinations around the world!
 
Image
 
Travel Insurance - Be sure to check out Safety Wing, my personal favorite for incredibly affordable travel insurance.
 
Cruise ship jobs - While cruise lines are not hiring right now, they will be hiring thousands of new crew members once they start up again. My popular e-Guide How to Work on a Cruise Ship will help you get a rewarding job on board a cruise ship once the time is right.
Image
Image
Image