Santa Is My Ho-Ho-Homeboy & Other XShot Photos From This Week

Mailer 04
Wandering Earl
 

Santa Is My Ho-Ho-Homeboy & Other XShot Photos From This Week

 

2012-10-29 13:02:08-04

Wandering Earl

Chaos at New Delhi Railway Station
What a week. From Florida to Houston, back to Florida and up to New York City I went. And then I flew to India, where I am right now, sitting in my hotel room in Delhi, still in a state of disbelief about being back in this incredible country.

And in between all of the flying over the last seven days, in between my visa run to Houston and trying to get as much work done as possible, and in between the hundreds upon hundreds of emails, I somehow still managed to accomplish everything I set out to accomplish during my quick visit back to the US.

At the Beach in Jupiter, Florida

I spent a full morning at the beach in Florida, with my mom joining me…

Lunch with my Grandmother

before visiting with my grandmother and the always entertaining Leo, her long-time partner.

Buying a New Shirt

I then tried to buy a new shirt but couldn’t find anything that suited me (I decided against this one in the end).

Organizing My Stuff

And I sat down and organized all of the stuff I keep stored at my mother’s place.

Then, in a flash, that visit was over and I found myself walking out the door of the Indira Gandhi International Airport in Delhi, where, immediately upon arrival in the city center, I ran around in such awe that you would have thought it was my first time here. I just couldn’t wait to…

Raj's Cozy Inn, Paharganj, Delhi

Check into Raj’s Cozy Inn, my favorite budget hotel in Delhi…

Dinner at My Favorite Restaurant

Eat at my favorite restaurant in the city, the Hindi name of which I still don’t know…

Pineapple Shake in Connaught Place

Drink a pineapple shake from my favorite roadside shake stall…

Shave in Pahar Ganj

Enjoy a wonderful shave from a barber I’ve used many times before…

The Main Bazaar of Pahar Ganj

Wander through the chaotic, yet atmospheric, Main Bazaar in Pahar Ganj…

Ajay from Truly India Agency

And meet with Ajay, the amazing man who helped organize certain aspects of my upcoming Welcome to India tour…

Exhausted from all of that activity, I actually ended up falling asleep that first night just before 8pm, however, I was woken up at 10pm by the sound of loud drums, as one should expect to happen on any given night in this country. So I put on my clothes, went up to the roof top of the hotel, stuck my XShot out over the wall and captured a wedding celebration taking place in the lane below. And I must say that the sight of everyone dancing, of those drummers playing their music and of the smiles that this celebration brought to the faces of all those around, instantly made me realize that returning to India this year was definitely a wise decision…


(If you’re reading this post via email, please click here to view the video.)

In case you missed the previous two posts in this series â The XShot: Why Every Traveler Should Carry One & XShot Photos & A Wacky Video From A Remote Lighthouse – let me mention that all of the photos and the video above were taken with my trusty XShot camera extender, a piece of travel gear that has quickly become one of my favorite items that I carry with me on my adventures.

And my XShot has proven so useful that I honestly do believe, as I’ve stated before, that every traveler would benefit from owning one. For around $22 bucks you’ll suddenly have the ability to capture photos of yourself at all times while also being able to capture photos from angles and perspectives you never thought possible.

Thank you all for following along with this 3-month series and I hope those of you who already bought an XShot have been taking some interesting and unique photos as a result!


 
 
 
 





  [email protected]