A Stroll Along Istiklal Street in Istanbul

Mailer 04
Wandering Earl
 

A Stroll Along Istiklal Street in Istanbul

 

2012-03-28 11:01:22-04

Wandering Earl

During my stay in Istanbul over the past five days, it occurred to me that taking a stroll along the city’s popular Istiklal Street is something that never gets old.

This three-kilometer long, pedestrian-only avenue on the European side of the city acts as the heart of the shopping/entertainment/nightlife district of Beyoglu, with an endless variety of both local and international stores, bookshops, cafes, restaurants, meyhane, food stalls, chestnut vendors, bakeries, bars, clubs, shisha cafes, tea houses and so much more lining both the street itself as well as the dozens of tiny lanes that branch off on both sides.

And the other night, as I found myself in Taksim Square, which lies at one end of Istiklal Street, I thought that you might be interested in joining me for a walk through this area…

(Warning: This is actually more of a sprint than a walk!)

*For those reading this post as an email, you’ll need to click here and visit my site to view the video. It’s not possible to embed the videos in the email unfortunately.


Have you been to Istanbul? Is it on your list of places to visit?

 
 
 
 





  [email protected]