The Travel Email: Off to Morocco, Spanish residency card, Tajikistan and more...

The Travel Email: Off to Morocco, Spanish residency card, Tajikistan and more...
Wandering Earl Travel Email
Hey,
 
First up today...
 
Spanish Residency Card - Success!
I don't actually have the card in my possession but last week I finally managed to have a successful appointment at the police station. My fingerprints were taken and my residency card will be ready in 30 days. I have now officially completed the process of gaining Spanish residency!
 
For those interested in Spanish residency, I just wrote a new blog post: Spanish Residency Card: All You Need to Know.
 
Morocco Time
On Thursday, I fly to Casablanca, Morocco for a private tour I've organized for 10 wonderful women interested in local textiles and crafts. First thing I'll do in Casablanca? Get a haircut. I always go to the same old-school barber shop that's been around for 50 years, complete with original seats and decor. (No idea the name of the place, only the location on the corner of January 11th Boulevard and Rue Farhat Achad!)
 
 

Starting From Scratch
It's the name of the podcast I was a guest on a few weeks ago. Here's that episode which, oddly enough, focuses on how to travel the world for a living :)
 
 

My Favorites
Where I share personal favorites from my life of travel...
 
For a few moments of serenity in Melbourne, Australia, pop into the grand State Library Victoria and enjoy the impressive surroundings. If you're in Berlin and craving some tasty Nepali street food, Holy Everest is the place to go (be sure to chat with awesome owner!). When it's time to venture into the countryside, an afternoon drive along the stunning Sky Road in Clifden, Ireland is an absolute must. 
 
And if you're feeling adventurous? Karimabad, Pakistan is by far one of the most mesmerizing places I've ever been, nestled right into the heart of the mighty Karaokaram Mountains.

 
Karimabad Pakistan
You guessed it. This is the view from Karimabad, Pakistan!
 

The rest of this week's travel email...

 
Sleeping on Planes
An insomniac shares her advice on how to try and get decent sleep on long haul flights.
 
11 Travel Podcasts
Nomadic Matt shares his 11 favorite travel podcasts that will give anyone some serious wanderlust.
 
The Rebuilding of Notre Dame
The debate has begun over how to re-construct the Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris. The question seems to be - should it be built as it was or with modern architecture added?
 
Travelers Behaving Badly
Are tourists behaving worse and worse these days? With each viral video we see, it certainly seems that way.
 
Remote Tajikistan
This is where you'll find the tiny community of Bulunkul, the coldest town in Central Asia. I'd love to get here myself!
 
And In Nearby Kazakhstan
A photographer gets into a crazy abandoned Russian space centre in the middle of nowhere, complete with abandoned space shuttles still inside. Excellent photos included.
 
Two Great Travel Articles
 
A Step Forward For Animal Rights
TripAdvisor will stop selling tickets to attractions that are involved with breeding or importing whales or dolphins. This applies to attractions/activities on Viator as well and should make an impact.
 

Simply get in touch with me if you have any questions or want to say hello!

Earl 
WanderingEarl.com | Facebook

 
Wandering Earl Tours - Ready to join one of my small-group tours to some really cool destinations around the world?
 
Travel Insurance - Traveling soon? Check out Safety Wing, my personal favorite for incredibly affordable travel insurance.
 
Cruise ship jobs - Save money and travel the world! My popular e-Guide "How to Work on a Cruise Ship" helps you get a rewarding job on board a cruise ship.
 
Travel resources - My updated Travel Resources with the booking sites, gear, apps and more that I use on my own travels.

*If you received this email from someone else and would like to sign up, simply visit The Travel Email.