The Travel Email: Valencia apartment prices, paradise and Saudi Arabia

The Travel Email: Valencia apartment prices, paradise and Saudi Arabia
Wandering Earl Travel Email
Hey

Good morning from Valencia, Spain. Here's some personal news and notes from the past week...
 
Residency card...take 2!
Even though I have my Spain residency visa, I need to get a residency card to make it official. And I messed up my residency card appointment last week because my apartment rental contract was for less than the required 6 months. So, I'm getting that fixed and have a new appointment on October 15th to try again.
 
Valencia apartment prices
If you rent long term (1 year contract), a nice fully furnished, 2 bedroom apartment in the prime areas costs around $900 USD / month. Go a little farther away, it drops to $800 or less. My current apartment is $1300 per month (including all utilities) because I started with a short-term rental (through Globexs, which was MUCH cheaper than Airbnb), it has 3 bedrooms and it's only 5 minutes from the beach.
 
2 Euro breakfast
Yes, at a local cafe here, a set menu with a warm baguette, fresh tomato salsa, an Americano and a glass of fresh orange juice only costs 2 Euros. Not too bad!
 
 

Latest Blog Post
If you're interested in Morocco, here's my favorite itinerary for a road trip or any kind of trip around this excellent destination: A Great Morocco Road Trip
 
 

My Favorites
Where I share a personal favorite from my life of travel...
 
Mango Beach House (Jambiani, Zanzibar) - This will forever be one of my favorite accommodations anywhere. Run by a super kind owner, Kiddo, this budget-friendly oceanfront guesthouse offers funky rooms on a laid-back, picture perfect piece of paradise.
 
Mango Beach House Zanzibar
A view from our room at Mango Beach House in Zanzibar (2017).
 

The rest of this week's travel email...

 
Unique People Photos
A photographer works at an airport in Istanbul and takes unique photos of travelers he sees.
 
Sitting Next to Infants on a Plane
Don't want to sit near an infant on your next flight? Japan Airlines now shows you where infants are sitting when you choose your seat.
 
Using Your Points Wisely
If you have credit card points or airline miles to use, Juicy Miles finds the best award flight options for you. It's like Kayak.com for award flights. (Here's an example of one person's Juicy Miles experience.)
 
One Month in Antarctica?
You can apply now to join a 4 week Antarctic research expedition jointly organized by AirBnB and Ocean Conservancy.
 
Saudi Arabia Visas
Seems like 90-day visas to visit the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia will soon be available for travelers from 49 countries, with a focus on promoting these 7 sites to foreigners.
 
Why Foodies Are Flocking to Peru
Here's why this South American country has become such a foodie hotspot.
 
The Most Underrated Travel Resource
I've said it before...it's Facebook groups. And this article shows why these groups can be a valuable tool for solo female travelers as well.
 

Simply get in touch with me if you have any questions or want to say hello!

Earl 
WanderingEarl.com | Facebook

 
Wandering Earl Tours - Ready to join one of my small-group tours to some really cool destinations around the world?
 
Travel Insurance - Traveling soon? Check out Safety Wing, my personal favorite for incredibly affordable travel insurance.
 
Cruise ship jobs - Save money and travel the world! My popular e-Guide "How to Work on a Cruise Ship" helps you get a rewarding job on board a cruise ship.
 
Travel resources - My updated Travel Resources with the booking sites, gear, apps and more that I use on my own travels.

*If you received this email from someone else and would like to sign up, simply visit The Travel Email.