Video: The Disturbing Truth About Life As A Backpacker

Mailer 04
Wandering Earl
 

Video: The Disturbing Truth About Life As A Backpacker

 

2011-12-20 19:19:38-05

This short video below is my attempt to show you the reality of life as a long-term traveler. However, please be warned. If you’ve been thinking about long-term travel yourself, you may be disturbed by what you see. To put it simply, life as a nomad is not as easy as one may think.

Now that you’ve watched the short video, please allow me to state that, in reality, I am of course very appreciative of the opportunities I’ve had to travel over the years, and especially for my recent trip to South Africa.

And hopefully you can understand that the only thing I did to reach this point of constant travel was to pack up my stuff and fly to Bangkok back in 1999 with a small amount of money in my pocket. That’s why I always encourage anyone interested in long-term travel to simply do whatever it takes to find a way to get started. Once you get out on the road, you never know where the path will lead and one day you just may find yourself on an unbelievable trip to South Africa as well.

I also want to mention again that the above video was shot in my beautiful room at The Marine Hermanus in the coastal town of Hermanus, South Africa, where Hamish and his wonderful team showered our small group with such unforgettable hospitality. Our stay here was simply perfect, and I wouldn’t hesitate for a second to recommend this establishment to anyone interested in treating themselves during their visit to South Africa.

Also, for anyone who has never eaten the dessert known as Cape Malva Pudding, please do so at the restaurant inside of The Marine if you’re ever in the area. Really, just eat it. And the next time I see you, I’ll gladly accept your hug of appreciation for the recommendation!


Any thoughts about life as a backpacker? Anyone eaten Malva Pudding before? Any comments about the video (as I’m thinking of adding more to the site)?

 
 
 
 





  [email protected]