I want to thank you. (And tell you about an oasis in the Sahara Desert)

I want to thank you. (And tell you about an oasis in the Sahara Desert)
Hey,

As the year comes to an end, I want to thank you for following along with this newsletter. Without readers such as yourself, this newsletter wouldn't exist. Not only do I recognize that fact but I remember it every single day.

I sincerely appreciate you being a part of this weekly email.

If you have any comments or suggestions for this newsletter, please let me know. All feedback will certainly help me improve as much as possible in 2021.
 
Image
Over the past couple of days, I've really become engrossed in the book Never Split the Difference. During my evening walks, where I make a loop around the center of Playa del Carmen, I listen to the audio version.
 
It's written by an ex-FBI international hostage negotiator and is packed with insight, tactics and lessons that can help us improve our interactions with other people in every day life.
 
The biggest lesson I've learned in the first couple of chapters is the value of speaking slowly. I know that I often speak quickly, way too quickly.
 
When speaking slowly, it creates an opportunity for words to sink in more deeply and for a stronger connection to be made with the person you are speaking with. This can only be beneficial, not simply in negotiations, but in creating meaningful bonds.
 
Two days ago I had a chance to practice. I was invited to give a talk at a weekly virtual event about travel and freedom. To prepare, I typed the words 'speak slowly' all over my notes. And I started off speaking very slowly.
 
But about 10 minutes into my talk, I changed back to my much quicker speed. I noticed it but I couldn't stop myself. So, clearly there's more practicing to be done! And I look forward to finishing the book as well.
 
---
 
On a side note, last night I spent 10 minutes tripping out. Try looking at these mesmerizing aerial photos of Iceland's rivers and I'm certain you'll experience the same. Good luck!
 
---
 

Cat lesson of the week: Buy a floppy fish. Seriously.
 

 

Matcha

Our morning routine. I brush. She rests.
Image
Travel-related (usually) tidbits that appeared in my inboxes this past week.
  • PACIFIC: Raul, one of the attendees at the virtual event I mentioned above, told me about the documentary "Pacific". It focuses on the cultures of the Pacific and naturally, I had to watch the first episode right away. It was excellent and I hope to finish the rest this week.
     
  • TERAANGA: After a conversation with a friend, I learned about the one word that defines Senegal and the generosity of spirit of its people.
     
  • MEDIEVAL BRIDGES: I've wondered at times how all of those medieval bridges in Europe were built. I received the fascinating answer in my inbox, in this short and detailed animation created by a Czech architectural firm.
Kathmandu

It's hard to forget the calming flap of the Tibetan prayer flags and the view over
Kathmandu from the Swayambhunath Stupa.
Image
 
NIGHT TRAINS
With the 'Greta effect', the popularity of night trains across Europe is expected to grow rapidly, with stiff competition for several routes. I'm happy to take a comfy overnight train any day!
 
FLIGHTS OVER TIBET
It's probably not a question you've asked before, but the question, and answer, is interesting nonetheless - why don't planes fly over Tibet?
 
BEAUTIFUL AND EMPTY
This collection of 45 abandoned locations around the world made me want to put together another abandoned buildings tour (I ran two such tours to Romania last year)!
 
COPENHILL
In Copenhagen, the incredible CopenHill recreation center and energy plant offers a green space, ski slope and rock-climbing wall for the public, while the building also turns waste into clean energy at the same time.
 
AN OASIS IN CHAD
So remote that you need a 4-day 4x4 journey from Chad's capital to get there, the UNESCO site of Guelta d’Archei is a surreal and ancient oasis in the Sahara Desert.
 
YARRA RANGES
Only an hour outside of Melbourne, Australia, the Yarra Ranges National Park is home to a beautiful forest full of giant mountain ash trees, rainforest and even California Redwoods.
 
And finally....
Image
Ishita Malaviya is the first woman in India to become a competitive surfer, inspiring others, offering free surf lessons to village kids and even making it on to the Forbes 30 Under 30 Asia list. And she's done it all while living a simple village life on India's west coast.
Have a great week ahead and I wish you as happy a holiday season as possible during these current times!
 
Regards,
Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 

*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up, just visit A Life of Travel.
 
Image
 
Ready for a unique tour experience? Join one of my small group, locally-focused trips to incredible destinations around the world!
 
Image
 
Travel Insurance - Be sure to check out Safety Wing, my personal favorite for incredibly affordable travel insurance.
 
Cruise ship jobs - While cruise lines are not hiring right now, they will be hiring thousands of new crew members once they start up again. My popular e-Guide How to Work on a Cruise Ship will help you get a rewarding job on board a cruise ship once the time is right.
Image
Image